Affordable Insurance, Fast

Get My Auto Quote

Florida Auto Insurance Facts

We’ll make you feel more prepared driving in Florida.

The state minimum auto insurance coverage in Florida:

Liability Coverage

Minimum

Description

Bodily Injury Per Person $10,000 Each person you injured in an accident that you cause would receive $10,000, up to your policy limit.
Bodily Injury Per Accident $20,000 The maximum your insurance would pay out for an accident you caused. At state minimums, this would cover 2 people in the other car. Anything above this limit would need to be paid out of pocket.
Property Damage Per Accident $10,000 The maximum your insurance company would pay to cover damage to the other driver’s vehicle in an accident.

 

Although each state sets a minimum liability amount, it’s good practice to review coverage options with your insurance agent. State minimums may not cover you as much as you’d like in the case of a serious accident. Liability coverage does not cover damage to your car or costs from your injuries.

 

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Minimum

Per Person $10,000

 

Personal Injury Protection will help with costs beyond medical in the event of an accident. It will help pay for medical expenses, work loss, and even funeral costs.

 

Other types of auto insurance you can add to your policy are:

 

UNINSURED/UNDERINSURED MOTORIST

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is only required in some states, but it will protect you if you get into an accident with a motorist without the proper insurance coverage. Uninsured or underinsured motorists can end up costing you due to another driver’s negligence.

 

COLLISION COVERAGE

Collision coverage will help pay for damages to your car in the event that your car hits another vehicle or an object, such as a building or guard rail.

 

COMPREHENSIVE COVERAGE

Comprehensive coverage will cover damage to your car that isn’t caused by an accident, such as a vandalism or theft. It also covers fire, weather damage, and animal collisions.

 

MEDICAL PAYMENTS

Medical payments help pay for you or your passengers if they get hurt in an accident in your vehicle.

MAX SPEED LIMIT
70 MPH
MILES OF HIGHWAY
271,024
DUI LEGAL LIMIT
0.08
WEIRD DRIVING LAWS IN STATE

WEIRD DRIVING LAWS IN STATE

A swamp buggie is not considered a motor vehicle

It is illegal to put livestock on a school bus

TEXTING LAWS

TEXTING LAWS

Illegal to text and drive (but considered a secondary law)

MOST STOLEN VEHICLES

MOST STOLEN VEHICLES

  1. 2000 Honda Civic
  2. 1996 Honda Accord
  3. 1990 Toyota Camry
  4. 2006 Ford F150 Pickup
  5. 2004 Dodge Ram Pickup
  6. 2008 Nissan Altima
  7. 2000 Dodge Caravan
  8. 2007 Toyota Corolla
  9. 1995 Nissan Maxima
  10. 1996 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee

RAINFALL
545
SNOWFALL
0
DAYS OF SNOWFALL
0
POPULAR CITIES

POPULAR CITIES

Tallahassee

Jacksonville

SCENIC DRIVES

SCENIC DRIVES

Seven Mile Bridge

Overseas Highway

STATE PARKS

STATE PARKS

Fort De Soto Park

Myakka River State Park

John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park